Tags

, , , ,

guitar 13 scan
Guitar Thirteen
Dimensions: 10×10 in.
Materials: Acrylic paint & varnish on canvas

Buy it as a print or cards.
guitar 13 detail 1
When I lived and worked in San Diego and La Jolla in 2000 and 2001, every corporate office had some kind of art based on beaches and palm trees. On the one hand, it got to be cliche. On the other hand, I was inspired by all the different ways artists chose to represent these themes.

I pay tribute to those inspirations with Guitar Thirteen. Using blues and greens that remind me of La Jolla, and some paint scraping techniques I picked up from a video on Gerhard Richter, Guitar Thirteen abstracts all my pleasant memories of living in Southern California. The square shapes bring to mind the buildings. And, if you look hard enough, you might even see some highly abstracted palm trees on the left!

guitar 13 detail 2

 

