Tags

, ,

A few years ago, I attended a writing workshop on dreams and poetry. David Chorlton presented us with seven similarities between dreams and poetry. A copy remains posted on the wall, and it has inspired me more than once. Sometimes instead of working from a prompt, I just review this list.

Seven Similarities of Dreams and Poetry
from David Chorlton

1. Appeal to the Senses.

2. Vivid Imagery.

3. Structures to Create or Communicate an Emotional State

4. Uncensored Communication

5. Subconscious Sources

6. Central Images: What details are left in, and which are left out? Ask yourself, “If I had to draw this room tomorrow, what details would I remember or choose to represent?”

7. Juxtaposition of Strikingly Different Objects and Images. A high level of surreal contrast.

 
lava lamp 1

